Frequently Asked Questions
How does your school work?
We have incorporated classroom teaching techniques with the ease of online education to give our internet courses that human touch. They are comprised of reading material that we’ve uploaded straight from our books, PowerPoint presentations that feature audio from our instructors and go over the key points in the reading material, and quizzes throughout to help you retain what you’ve learned. At the end, you will take a final exam. Once passed, we will issue you a certificate and you will have access to state/national review simulations.
Our courses are user-friendly and go-at-your-own-pace. There are no set dates or times; your course will begin immediately after purchase. You may login/logout at any time and your progress will be recorded.
What course do I need to take?
Louisiana real estate: The Louisiana Real Estate Commission requires all licensees take 90 hours of prelicensing education in order to qualify to take the agent licensing exam. Here is our 90-hour Louisiana Real Estate Salesperson Prelicensing course.
Mississippi real estate: The Mississippi Real Estate Commission requires all licensees take 60 hours of prelicensing education in order to qualify to take the agent licensing exam. Here is our 60-hour Mississippi Real Estate Salesperson Prelicensing course.
Louisiana insurance: The Louisiana Department of Insurance requires all licensees to take 40 hours of prelicensing education in order to qualify to take the producer licensing exam. We offer prelicensing education for two licenses: Here is our Louisiana Property & Casualty Insurance Prelicensing course, and here is our Louisiana Life & Health Insurance Prelicensing course.
What happens after I receive my prelicensing certificate?
Louisiana real estate: Visit the link provided on your certificate of completion to download and print the application forms. Mail or deliver your prelicensing certificate, the completed forms, and the appropriate fees to the Louisiana Real Estate Commission. A criminal background check is also required. You will be contacted by the LREC with information on how to schedule your licensing exam. Exams are taken online at a PSI Exams facility. Click here for a list of the testing locations.
Mississippi real estate: Contact the Mississippi Real Estate Commission at 601.321.6970 to schedule your licensing exam.
Louisiana insurance: Once you have printed out your certificate, it is imperative that you call us at 225.292.7277 so that we can verify your personal information. We will upload this to the Louisiana Department of Insurance’s online exam scheduling portal (PSI Exams). Once your account is created (within 48 hours), you will receive an e-mail from PSI with your login credentials. It is then that you may schedule your licensing exam with the LDI at www.psiexams.com. Exams are taken online at a PSI Exams facility. Click here for a list of the testing locations.
Are your courses approved by the state?
Our various courses are approved by the following organizations:
• ARELLO (Association of Real Estate License Law Officials)
• Louisiana Real Estate Commission
• Mississippi Real Estate Commission
• Louisiana Department of Insurance
• Mississippi Department of Insurance
• Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors
• Louisiana State Board of Home Inspectors
• Greater Baton Rouge Association of REALTORS®
• Louisiana Bar Association
Do you offer in-class classroom courses?
No, we do not. Bob Brooks School specializes in online education.
Can I purchase a physical copy of the book?
All of the information from our books is uploaded into the online courses and able to be printed out in PDF format, therefore a book is not necessary. However, some students prefer to have a hard-copy of the reading material. We do keep prints of the following books: Louisiana Real Estate Salesperson/Broker Prelicensing, Louisiana Life & Health Insurance Prelicensing, and Louisiana Property & Casualty Insurance Prelicensing. The price is $20.00 for pick-up and $25.00 for mail-out. Give us a call and we’ll be happy to take care of you.
Will you report my continuing education hours?
We send in real estate CE and Postlicensing reports to the Real Estate Commission and insurance CE reports to the Department of Insurance. Contractors and home inspectors are responsible for sending in their own CE hours.
How long is my prelicensing certificate good for?
Real estate: A real estate prelicensing certificate is good for five (5) years from its certification date.
Insurance: An insurance prelicensing certificate is good for one (1) year from its certification date.
I no longer have access to my course. What can I do?
Your subscription has most likely expired. Each course comes with a certain subscription period (listed within the course description) included in the initial price. We can renew your subscription and re-enroll you into your course for a small $25.00 reactivation fee. This fee will open your course for an additional 30 days, and your course will pick back up right where you left off. Call us to get reactivated.
For taking the course on a mobile device, iPad, or other tablet:
While our reading material and quizzes are compatible with mobile devices, our presentations sometimes aren’t. We use Adobe products to create these presentations. If you are taking our course on a mobile device, we recommend that you download the free app Presenter Mobile by Adobe. You will be able to view everything else on your web browser, but for the presentations, you will need to copy and paste the link into the Presenter Mobile app in order to view it.
What do I do if I’m on a desktop computer / laptop and I can’t view the presentations / hear the audio?